Hello Dear Friend!

Ah, how good it feels! The hand of an old friend.

         ~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

103_8707

Yesterday I found myself in an area of town that seemed familiar and I suddenly recognized a street that an old friend lived on. So down I went.

 As a child, I was raised with conflicting viewpoints when it came to visiting friends and family. My mother FIRMLY believed that you should NEVER stop by one’s home without an invitation, while my dad was of the opinion that a true friend’s door was always open.  I tend to be more like my dad. I’m not very good at making appointments – I’m a “spur of the moment”  kinda girl, and, if I happen to be in your neighborhood, I just might stop by to say hello. 

Well I did.  I stopped in to see a beloved friend that I hadn’t seen in too long, and it was wonderful!  A cup of coffee together, catching up, and hearing the wonderful news that she is engaged to be married… It doesn’t get much better than that!  So, here’s to spontaneity, to friendship, to keeping in touch, and to popping in to say hello – even if you didn’t call first!

My dear friend, I am so happy for you! I’ve missed you! And I’ll be praying for you and your husband-to-be.

Leave a Reply

