How Do You Eat An Elephant?

OMG. (OH MY GOSH!)  We made it and just look at the mess! So, how do you eat an elephant?  …One bite at a time. I sure am missing my daughter right now.   She’s amazing.  She has this supernatural gift for cleaning and organization.  Me?  NO WAY! I take one look at a room that’s in desperate need of cleaning and de-cluttering and I’m exhausted just looking at it.
It takes me forever just to figure out where to begin. In the time it takes me to begin, my daughter is almost finished. She has this knack of jumping in and getting it done in no time! Not only has she cleared every clutter pile, but she’s put everything in it’s place, the whole room sparkles and between disinfectant and candles she makes it all smell delicious too!  I don’t know how she does it or where she gets her gift from, but it’s nothing short of miraculous!

Here’s what I’m dealing with now:

Picture 011

And that’s just my bedroom!

So we made it to the farm. And three hours later I’ve managed to pull up my Blog 😉 Yes, this will be quite the challenge!  So today, my goals are:

 

  • to unload and unpack
  • to begin digging out my scrapbook table (Yes, the table here is as buried as the one in town!)
  • I’ve already done the morning milking
  • to begin a compost pile

Well, not exactly a pile – a “kitchen compost”, which I’ll take outdoors as the container fills and add to my outdoor compost pile.  If you don’t already do this, it’s a great way to build up your soil – even if you don’t garden.  Do you have houseplants?  Let me tell you, houseplants LOVE a boost of coffee grounds and eggshells and I’ve been told that it does wonders for roses too!  Another benefit is the savings – with your own compost you’ll no longer have to buy “Miracle Grow” for a mid-season pick-me-up.

So here’s what to do: find a suitable container. I’m using a plastic container with a lid. Anything works well – a bowl, large coffee can, a pot.. I prefer something with a lid so as not to attract flying critters (esp fruit flies)  Then fill it with all your organic kitchen material:

  • coffee grinds
  • eggshells
  • potato, carrot and other veggie peelings
  • hair
  • banana, orange and apple peels
  • nut shells
  • corn cobs and husks
  • stale bread
  • even non-meat products that have been in the fridge too long

Really, you’re only limited by your imagination! The only things that you should NOT compost are:

  • fats and oils
  • meat products
  • feces

 

Add to your container/pile little by little each day and soon you’ll have wonderful, rich compost! Now excuse me while i go outside to turn the pile I have working.

 

 

2 Responses to “How Do You Eat An Elephant?”

  1. Janet Smith Says:

    Thanks for the tips on how to make your own compost … I am going to STOP throwing so many things out and saving them for houseplant food!

  2. Vera Smith Says:

    Living out in the country, we don’t have recycling pickup. In fact we don’t have ANY garbage pickup at all! But we DO compost. . . . .

    I guess you & I were “green” before it was cool! LOL

Leave a Reply

