CHOCOLATE CARAMEL BAR COOKIE TRAIN

I messed up. All this is very new to me: Blogging, Cookie Trains, Dial-up Internet, GMT… What the heck is GMT anyway? Uh oh. Just found out what GMT is, and I’m due to post RIGHT NOW! And I haven’t made my Chocolate Caramel bars yet. My sincerest apologies to my “train gang.” My only consolation is that we’re due to air this at midnight. If you’re anything like me, you’re definitely NOT on the Internet at midnight! You’re sound asleep! So, while my cookie swap pictures are still in the oven, i’ll get my post ready. my biggest frustration with dial up is that each picture takes about 30 minutes to load, and I hope to post several in this blog.

So now, here is my Cookie Swap contribution.

CHOCOLATE CARAMEL BARS
Ingredients:
2 1/2 Cups flour – divided
2 Cups Rolled Oats
1 1/2 Cups packed Brown Sugar
1 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 Cups cold butter (3 sticks!)
2 Cups Chocolate chips – semi sweet
1 Cup chopped pecans (I used Walnuts)
1 Jar (12 oz) Caramel ice cream topping

note: the caramel sauce is the only ingredient you may have trouble finding in the UK – maybe not. This is what it looks like here in the U.S.

Directions:
Combine:
2 Cups flour, 2 Cups rolled oats, brown sugar, baking soda & salt.
Cut in cold butter until crumbly.
Set aside 1/2 of this mix.
Press 1/2 crumble mix into 13 X 9 in. greased baking pan.

Bake 350 degrees for 15 minutes.
Sprinkle on nuts and chocolate chips.
Whisk caramel topping and 1/4 cup flour and drizzle over top.
Sprinkle remaining 1/2 crumble mix on top.
Bake 350 degrees 18 – 20 minutes until golden brown.
Cool 2 hours before cutting.
Serve in small pieces – Very rich!

There now, three pictures and 4 1/2 hours later…

I’m so glad you stopped by! Be sure to check out another delicious cookie recipe  on this “Cookie Swap Blog Train” at:

http://www.beglorious.blogspot.com/

Hope to meet with you again soon!

6 Responses to “CHOCOLATE CARAMEL BAR COOKIE TRAIN”

  1. melissa Says:

    okay so when are u sending me mine?? I’ll send you my address in exchange for a holiday gift box! lol like last year it was so tasty! except don’t send fudge! it didn’t make it through the post 🙂

  2. Amber Says:

    What a fab sounding cookie I am all for anything with carmel in or on it.

  3. Lois Houston Says:

    They look so yummy!!

  4. Margie Says:

    Wow! 30 minutes to upload a photo! You get a star for posting at all. Those cookies look great. Chocolate & caramel is my favorite combination.

  5. Angela2932 Says:

    My two sons are going to think you are some kind of hero because of this recipe! Packaged carefully, I think this is going to be a wonderful treat to greet them some afternoon at their apartments in the next few weeks!

  6. Anne Says:

    I love rich things. I am never a person that says “it is too rich for me”. I will be making these. My husband loves caramel. I will hunt the shops to find caramel sauce here in UK.

Leave a Reply

