Sweet Memories of Chanukah Past and a Prayer for Every Chanukkah to Come

This is a treasured photo of my late husband Ed lighting the candles at Chanukkah with the twins

And this is my prayer each and every Chanukkah written by Marty Goetz:

Make my life Your temple
Lord, at this season start
To pull down every idol
I have raised up in my heart.

On this Chanukkah
On this Feast of Dedication
I dedicate myself to You.

Take my defiled altar
Come and cleanse and come repair
So every time I falter
I can run to meet You there

On this Chanukkah
On this Feast of Dedication
I dedicate myself to You.

And with every candle on the menorah that illuminates the night
Comes a prayer you’d kindle in me, Yeshua,
A desire for Your fire, for Your Light.
Make of my mortal body
A house worthy of Your Name
Rid me of what’s ungodly
And every hidden thing of shame

On this Chanukkah
On this Feast of Dedication
I dedicate myself to You

And with every candle on the menorah that illuminates the night
Comes my prayer that you’d kindle in me, Messiah,
A desire for Your fire, for Your Light.
Take my supply of oil
Not enough to burn long I fear
But oh how I pray I may one day say
A great miracle happened here

On this Chanukkah
On this Feast of Dedication
I dedicate myself to You
My Yeshua
I dedicate myself to You.

Leave a Reply

